Congrats to Research Professor of Chemistry and ANSER collaborator Omar Farha, who was named the “Kavli Foundation Emerging Leader in Chemistry Lecturer” for the American Chemical Society National Meeting in August 2016 in Philadelphia.  The Lecture is awarded to a chemical scientist under the age of 40 who is ten years or less beyond his/her Ph.D, and is the most prestigious lecture award conferred by ACS.

The Argonne-Northwestern Solar Energy Research (ANSER) Center's Mercouri Kanatzidis received the "Renewable Energy Prize" in the 8th annual Eni Awards. His research focuses on the development of new solid state semiconductors that are able to recover waste heat and convert it directly into electricity.

ANSER chemists Mercouri G. Kanatzidis and Abhishek Banerjee discover new catalyst that could make the process of producing 200 million tons of ammonia annually (mainly for fertilizer) dramatically more energy-efficient.

ANSER's Tejas Shastry (left) was featured in Forbes 30 Under 30 as a co-founder of AMPY, a wearable lithium-ion battery that harnesses kinetic energy from movement. At ANSER, Shastry works with materials scientist Mark Hersam to understand charge transfer in cheap, earth-abundant organic photovoltaics. 

ANSER PI Tobin Marks' most recent article on enhancing polymer solar cell efficiency has been featured on the inside front-cover of the Oct. 7, 2014 edition of Advanced Energy Materials.  Congrats!Congratulations to ANSER PI Mercouri G. Kanatzidis, whose paper on lead-free solid-state organic-inorganic halide perovskite solar cells was published in Nature Photonics on May 4 2014. The paper has received extensive media attention due to its great potential in improving solar cells.Hands On Experience
The ANSER Center prides itself on the active participation of its undergraduate, graduate, and postdoctoral researchers.

Four Research Organizations, One Team

The ANSER Center, founded in 2007, is a joint research effort between Northwestern University and Argonne National Laboratory that works to develop the fundamental understanding of molecules, materials and method necessary to create dramatically more efficient technologies for solar fuels and energy production.  ANSER’s research aligns with the DOE’s Basic Energy Systems research in the fields of solar photochemistry, catalysis, condensed-phase and interfacial molecular science, computational and theoretical chemistry and materials chemistry.

In June 2014, the Department of Energy (DOE) renewed ANSER’s original 2009 Energy Frontier Research Center (EFRC) grant ($19.0 million, 5-years) for an additional $15.2 million, 4-year term.  ANSER is one of 22 (of 46) 2009 EFRCs to be renewed, and among 16% of cumulative 2014 applicants to received funding.

ANSER’s success depends on an integrated systems approach that comes from focused, team-oriented interdisciplinary research with close communication and coordination among members, which include Argonne National Laboratory, the University of Chicago, and Yale University.  These collective institutions offer a critical mass of world-class researchers with unique capabilities and facilities in materials synthesis, characterization, and theory.

Together, ANSER’s team will advance the broad frontier of solar energy science to produce renewable energy with negligible environmental cost.  [Read more]

** ANSER is a portfolio center of the Institute for Sustainability and Energy at Northwestern University (ISEN) **


Research Areas

The ANSER Center is organized around two basic research thrusts, each dealing with a solar energy conversion chain culminating in a specific end use.

University Policy Statements | Privacy & Security Notice | Plan-It Purple

Argonne-Northwestern Solar Energy Research (ANSER) Center.
ANSER is a U.S. DOE Energy Frontier Research Center.

2145 Sheridan Road, Evanston, IL 60208-3113
847-467-2519 - Email:
© 2014 Northwestern University - All rights reserved.